"HIPAA-compliant e-signature" and "Part 11-compliant e-signature" sound like the same question. They are not. One is about who may hold patient data; the other is about how a signature on an FDA-regulated record must be built. Buying for the wrong one is the expensive mistake here, so this page separates them before naming a tool.

No software is HIPAA- or Part 11-compliant on its own. Compliance belongs to the practice or the regulated company, through its contracts, settings and procedures. What a vendor can do is sign the right agreement and ship the controls you need.

HIPAA: the agreement matters more than the signature

The HIPAA Security Rule that HHS finalized in 2003 adopted security standards only; the proposed electronic-signature standard was set aside for a later rule. The one exception today is narrow: a final rule published March 24, 2026 (effective May 26, 2026, compliance required by May 26, 2028) adopts an electronic-signature standard, HL7's Digital Signatures Guide, only for health care claims attachments transactions sent to health plans (45 CFR 162.2002(e)). For intake forms, consents and other patient paperwork, HIPAA does not tell you what an e-signature must look like.

What it does decide is the vendor relationship. A business associate is anyone who creates, receives, maintains or transmits protected health information on behalf of a covered entity (45 CFR 160.103). An e-signature service storing signed patient forms fits that description. A covered entity may disclose patient information to a business associate only with satisfactory assurance that it will safeguard it, documented in a written contract or agreement (45 CFR 164.502(e)): in practice, a signed business associate agreement (BAA) before patient data goes in.

The vendors' own terms differ more than their marketing:

VendorWhat the vendor publishes about HIPAA useCatch
DocusignSays it acts as a business associate for documents containing PHI and that a signed BAA must be in place before servicesPlan eligibility is not stated on that page; confirm it in writing
Dropbox SignHIPAA use requires an annual Standard or Premium plan, a signed BAA and a minimum contract valueTurning HIPAA mode on removes CC'ing, emailed PDF copies and title or message edits
Jotform SignHIPAA compliance features on the Gold and Enterprise plans, with a BAAConfirm which account and plan the BAA covers
Adobe Acrobat SignNot covered by the sources on this pageAsk Adobe for its BAA terms before sending PHI

FDA Part 11: the signature itself is regulated

If you sign records that FDA regulations require (batch records, clinical trial documents, quality approvals), 21 CFR Part 11 applies, and it is specific:

  • Manifestation (§ 11.50). The signed record must show the signer's printed name, the date and time, and the meaning of the signature, such as review, approval or authorship, including on any printout.
  • Linking (§ 11.70). Signatures must be linked to their records so they cannot be cut, copied or transferred to falsify another record.
  • Uniqueness and identity (§ 11.100). Each signature belongs to one person and is never reused or reassigned, and the organization verifies identity before assigning it.
  • Certification to FDA (§ 11.100(c)). The company certifies to the agency that its electronic signatures are the legally binding equivalent of handwritten ones, in a letter signed by hand.
  • Two components (§ 11.200). Non-biometric signatures use at least two distinct identification components, such as an ID code and a password, with all components required at the first signing of a session.

A general-purpose e-signature plan may not give you these by default. You need a product built for them and your own validation.

Our picks

  • Part 11 work: Docusign. Docusign sells a Part 11 module that adds two-factor authentication to access and sign, a reason-for-signing choice and a Certificate of Completion for each transaction, plus a separate validation module. It is the only Part 11 offer documented in the sources this page cites. Skip it if your quality system already lives in a PDF-centered document workflow: then start the same Part 11 checklist with Adobe Acrobat Sign.
  • A small practice's intake and consent forms: Jotform Sign. Patient paperwork usually starts as a form, and Jotform puts its HIPAA features and BAA on the Gold plan rather than behind an enterprise contract. Skip it if the documents are contracts drafted elsewhere rather than forms.
  • Who should skip Dropbox Sign for PHI: a small practice. Its HIPAA mode requires an annual plan and a minimum contract value, and it switches off features many teams rely on.

Before you send the first patient form

  1. Get the BAA signed, and check that it names the product and plan you actually use.
  2. Turn on the vendor's HIPAA mode, if it has one, before uploading anything.
  3. For Part 11, write your validation plan and the certification letter before go-live, not after an inspection asks for them.
  4. For the general question of whether an e-signature holds at all, see are electronic signatures legally binding.

Traceable evidence

Sources for this decision

13 sources
  1. regulatorHIPAA Security Standards final rule, 68 FR 8334 (February 20, 2003)US Department of Health and Human Services (Federal Register) · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: The 2003 HIPAA Security Rule, which adopted only security standards and deferred an electronic-signature standard to a later rule; it does not make any e-signature product compliant or prohibit electronic signatures.
    Open source ↗
  2. officialHHS final rule: Adoption of Standards for Health Care Claims Attachments Transactions and Electronic Signatures (91 FR 14350, March 24, 2026)U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (Federal Register) · checked Oct 28, 2026 · supports: HHS final rule published March 24, 2026, effective May 26, 2026 with compliance required by May 26, 2028, adopting standards for health care claims attachments transactions and, in 45 CFR 162.2002(e), an electronic signature standard (HL7 Digital Signatures and Delegation of Rights, Release 1) for use with those attachments; it does not cover prior authorization attachments, claims appeals or ordinary intake and consent forms.
    Open source ↗
  3. regulator45 CFR § 160.103, definition of business associateUS Department of Health and Human Services (eCFR) · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: The HIPAA definition of a business associate as a person that creates, receives, maintains or transmits protected health information on behalf of a covered entity; it does not decide whether a given vendor relationship or configuration meets the rules.
    Open source ↗
  4. regulator45 CFR § 164.502(e), disclosures to business associatesUS Department of Health and Human Services (eCFR) · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: The HIPAA rule that a covered entity may disclose protected health information to a business associate if it obtains satisfactory assurance the information will be safeguarded, documented in a written contract or agreement meeting § 164.504(e); it does not decide whether a given vendor's agreement is sufficient.
    Open source ↗
  5. regulator21 CFR Part 11, electronic records and electronic signaturesUS Food and Drug Administration (eCFR) · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: FDA rules for electronic signatures on records required by FDA regulations, including signature manifestation (printed name, date and time, meaning), signature-record linking, uniqueness, identity verification, certification to FDA and two-component signatures; it does not certify any product or validate a regulated company's system.
    Open source ↗
  6. vendorIs Docusign eSignature HIPAA compliant? (Docusign blog)Docusign · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: Docusign's statement that it acts as a HIPAA business associate for providers sending documents with PHI, that a signed BAA must be in place before services and that PHI is stored encrypted; it does not list eligible plans or prove a customer's compliance.
    Open source ↗
  7. vendorDocusign Life Sciences Modules for 21 CFR Part 11Docusign · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: Docusign's description of its Part 11 module (two-factor authentication to access and sign, reason for signing, audit trail and Certificate of Completion) and a separate Validator module; it does not state the edition required or prove a customer's Part 11 compliance.
    Open source ↗
  8. vendorIs Dropbox Sign HIPAA compliant? (Dropbox Help Center)Dropbox · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: Dropbox's conditions for HIPAA use of Dropbox Sign (annual Standard or Premium plan, signed BAA, minimum contract value) and the features turned off once HIPAA mode is on; it does not publish the minimum contract value or prove a customer's compliance.
    Open source ↗
  9. vendorIs Jotform Sign HIPAA compliant?Jotform · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: Jotform's statement that HIPAA compliance features for Jotform Sign are available on the Gold and Enterprise plans and that it provides a business associate agreement; it does not prove a customer's compliance or price those plans.
    Open source ↗
  10. vendorDocusign official product siteDocusign · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: Vendor-published product scope used to verify capabilities relevant to this buyer context: Organizations evaluating a broad agreement workflow and integration ecosystem. It does not prove the guide's fit verdict, configured performance, current pricing or compliance.
    Open source ↗
  11. vendorAdobe Acrobat Sign official product siteAdobe Acrobat Sign · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: Vendor-published product scope used to verify capabilities relevant to this buyer context: Teams that want signing evaluated alongside established PDF and document workflows. It does not prove the guide's fit verdict, configured performance, current pricing or compliance.
    Open source ↗
  12. vendorDropbox Sign official product siteDropbox Sign · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: Vendor-published product scope used to verify capabilities relevant to this buyer context: Small and product teams evaluating approachable signing and embedded workflows. It does not prove the guide's fit verdict, configured performance, current pricing or compliance.
    Open source ↗
  13. vendorJotform Sign official product siteJotform Sign · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: Vendor-published product scope used to verify capabilities relevant to this buyer context: Teams connecting forms, collected data, and signature documents in one workflow. It does not prove the guide's fit verdict, configured performance, current pricing or compliance.
    Open source ↗